Proximity.

August 28, 2012 § 46 Comments

 

 

I feel the wings growing
on my back. I want to
fly. Fly away from
here.That thing up there
calls me. It tells me to
soar high. Away.

Down here i wear two masks.
One of love, coloured stripes.
The mask that makes me
fall in love with you each
time you smile. That makes
me feel complete when you’re
around. The other mask: grey.
My grey wings in a grey
sky. The nothingness. And
the dispassion. That pulls
me away from you, and
what we have together.

I stand at the mountain
top, thinking it’s just time.
Time to say good-bye and
fly away. To nowhere and
everywhere. To grey skies.

But then i look at you
and the love in your
eyes. You call out my name
in that voice that melts
my heart away.
‘Love’, you say, ‘come here.’
I curl up my wings and
sit on the ground, weeping.
How could i think there
was a place away from here?
From you?
You are where i belong,
where i want to be. I crawl
back, into those arms
that only want to hold me.

‘Love isn’t a cage or a
leash or a chain. It is, perhaps,
a flexible cord. Trust it, nurture
it, and don’t pull away. It will
help us both fly. Separately, yet
deeply connected.’, you tell
me. With love in those
eyes, that makes me skip
a heartbeat.

And i realise this is home.

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 46 Responses to Proximity.

Whadya think?

What’s this?

You are currently reading Proximity. at Rants..

meta

